Call for Speakers - AALT 2015 Conference

Planning is underway for the next AALT Conference, to be held in Canmore, Alberta from May 28 -31, 2015. This is your opportunity to contribute to the success of AALT 2015 by presenting at the conference.

The theme for this year is Libraries in Transition. Your Conference Committee is looking for presentations that address this theme, the daily work of library technicians or health and wellness

Are you working on an interesting project? Tried something new at your library? Or, do you have great tips for improving one's work or personal life? We all have skills, knowledge and stories to share. AALT 2015 wants to hear all about the great work you do.

If you would like to submit a session proposal for AALT 2015, please complete this online form.

Thank you.

Kristian McInnis & Janis Rapchuk
AALT Conference 2015 co-Chairs

Follow us on Twitter

Hot off the Press!!!

The newest edition of the of the AALT Technician is now available in the Members only section of the website. I you have a membership and don't know how to log in, or are having trouble please contact the Web Team for help. Just send us an email at

Results of the 2014 Salary Survey are in

The results of the 2014 salary survey have been compiled and are available. Once you log in just click on the Members Only tab and select the Employment Survey link to view the final results.

Thanks for another great conference!

Well, another conference is finished and planning is already started for the next one. I would like to take the time to thank this years conference committee. Without their dedication and hard work this opportunity would not be possible. So a big round of applause for the 2014 AALT conference comittee!

Conference Chair - Tim Sproule
Sponsorship - Gail Bassett
ORS/Registration - Janell Hurdman
Vendors - Tora Volkers
Master of Ceremonies - Kristian McInnis
Support Crew - Joanne Shum, Sarah Stephens, Wendy Witczak, and Sue Zinyk

Just a reminder that next year's conference is May 28-31 at the Radisson Hotel and Conference Centre in beautiful Canmore Alberta. See you there!

2014 AALT Employment Survey

Dear Colleagues, I would like to invite you to participate in the 2014 AALT Employment Survey.

This short, anonymous survey will take less than 10 minutes to complete and the results will be posted in the Members Only area of This data, along with that of previous surveys, assists Alberta's library technicians with benchmarking, salary reviews and contract negotiations.

The survey will be open until 12am on May 22nd. If you have any questions regarding the survey please contact

It would also be greatly appreciated if you could spread the word by distributing the survey link to library technicians within your circles and contacts.

Thank you,
Christy Nichols
AALT Membership Director 2013-2014

2014 Annual AALT Conference

Registration is now open for the 2014 40th Annual AALT Conference! Check out the program, keynotes, and social information.

Register before April 17th to get the Early Bird rate.

All Early Bird Registrants will be entered to win a FREE 2015 AALT Conference registration!

New member login / account creation process for AALT member's only section

Your AALT account to enter the Member's Only content will be created by us when you register / renew your AALT membership! You will be emailed with the username and instructions to create your password.

When you login, you will see the 'member's only' link at the top right of the page.

AALT Celebrates Its Award and Bursary Recipients


June 15, 2013

(CANMORE, AB) The Alberta Association of Library Technicians (AALT) presented the following awards to the following distinguished and deserving recipients at the 2013 AALT Conference.

The AALT Advocacy Award was created to recognize the efforts of an individual who has had a positive influence on library technicians and library operations assistants within Alberta.
This year’s recipient is Susan Brayford, Manager of Reg Erhardt Library at SAIT Polytechnic.

Two student bursary awards were present to one SAIT Student and one Grant MacEwan student. These bursaries are decided upon by each school and provide financial support for educational opportunities in the information field.
This year’s SAIT recipient is Anne Williamson and the MacEwan recipient is Gail Bassett.

Other award winners were:
Janine Miiller for the Dewey Award and;
Janell Hurdman for the Bernice Neufeld Award





Subscribe to The Alberta Association of Library Technicians RSS
© 2016 Alberta Association of Library Technicians (AALT). Drupal theme by Kiwi Themes.